Las Vegas Philharmonic

Sat, Sept 9, 2017 at 7:30 PM

TICKET PRICES: $30 - $109
VENUE: Reynolds Hall

Pre-concert conversation at 6:30pm in Reynolds Hall

Opening Night Cocktail Party On Stage at 9:30pm - $50 per person; reservations required; ticket purchase separate from concert.

Donato Cabrera, conductor
Mykola Suk, piano

STRAUSS, R. - Don Juan, TrV 156, Opus 20
ADAMS - Common Tones in Simple Time
BRAHMS - Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Opus 15

OPENING NIGHT ON OUR 19TH SEASON features one of the greatest symphonic blockbusters of all time, music from an American icon to mark his 70th birthday and a concerto performed by an award-winning pianist who calls Las Vegas home. Richard Strauss, a versatile artist with a library of work spanning tone poems, opera and concerti, was deeply rooted in the Romantic Era, the artistic, literary, musical and intellectual movement that originated in Europe toward the end of the 18th century. His more mature voice emerged with the tone poem Don Juan, which premiered in 1889 and conveys the story of the legendary lothario. John Adams is one of the best known and most often performed of American composers. His Common Tones in Simple Time premiered in 1979 and will be the orchestra’s first performance of this work, which was composed to create the sense of soaring above landscapes, evoking emotion and excitement. We conclude the celebratory night with Johannes Brahms’s first Piano Concerto and soloist Mykola Suk, internationally recognized pianist and Las Vegan. Brahms, considered one of three prolific “B’s” of German composers (in the company of Bach and Beethoven) wrote solo piano music often described as rapturous. His four symphonies, two piano concertos, violin concerto, and chamber music are regarded among the most sophisticated and exquisite compositions of the Romantic era.

Listen to Donato’s Spotify Playlist: